Endowed Chairs and Professors


  • Carl E. Haas Chair in Food Industries

The Haas Endowed Chair is made possible by the fruit and vegetable processing industry proximate to Ohio.  It is one of the college's largest endowments and for over 20 years,  featured the distinguished work of Dr. Steven J Schwartz. Dr. Schwartz retired in the summer of 2017 and the department has since launched a search to fill the Carl E. Haas Endowed Chair in Food Industries at The Ohio State University. Click here for the position posting.

Established by Mr. Haas ('18 B.S. Horticulture), industry, alumni, and friends.  Major corporate donors included the Mid America Food Processors Association; Bob Evans Farms, Inc.; Heinz USA; L.K. Baker & Company; Rudolph Foods, Inc.; Bryan Canning Company, and others.  Mr. Haas made many contributions to the food industry.  Mr. Haas served in the infantry in France during World War I, where he began as a private and left as a 2nd lieutenant.  He retired from President of a long and successful family business (The Haas Brothers Company) in Cleveland, Ohio.  This fresh fruit and vegetable wholesale company was founded by his father and run by the family; by the time it was sold, it had existed for more than 80 years.  He was very tied to the Cleveland community, felt strongly about his accomplishments, and had continued interests in The Ohio State University.  Mr. Haas died July 25, 1989, a the the age of 96.  He was past president and director of Northern Ohio Food Terminal and was a member of the Director's Council for the Food Industries Center.  OSU recognized that the food industry constitutes a major segment of the nation's economy; and most of the nation's largest food-related corporations operate facilities in Ohio to process, package, and distribute the state's diversified food production.  The University has had a reputation for supplying the food industry with the research and technical information required in today's sophisticated system, along with highly trained graduates capable of their own research programs and implementation of data into industry procedures.  Thus, the Haas Chair was established as a way of reaching the dedicated goal of excellence in foods at OSU.


  • J.T. Parker Endowed Chair

Several industry leaders saw the need to keep Ohio at the fore-front of dairy products research and began to investigate the possibility of creating a endowed chair specifically for dairy foods in the 1980's. Key among these was Joseph Soehnlen of Superior Dairy, who investigated the potential for obtaining such a chair, and presented the idea to John Lindamood. Later, as chair of the Department of Food Science and Nutrition, Jim Martin then championed the cause. It was soon evident that to raise the amount of money needed would require the dedicated effort of some enthusiastic industry supporters. The resulting committee was chaired by Webb Jennings. Many people spent much time and effort in money raising efforts. Among those most active were Webb Jennings, Jim Lindeman, John Miller and Keb Lehman.

The J. T. "Stubby" Parker Chair was established on February 2, 1990 following a major gift from Thomas L. Parker in memory of his father, J.T. "Stubby" Parker. J.T. Parker's life work was in the dairy industry and he was the originator of Drumstick in Columbus, Ohio. Over the years when the dairy plant was fully operating, Drumstick frequently used the pilot plant facilities in testing new concepts. Additional gifts from 28 companies and numerous individuals provided the required $1,250,000 by 1993. Since then re-investment of some of the funds and additional gifts have brought the principal to more than $1,800,000.  

The objective of the endowment is that "the income shall be used to support the work of a distinguished professor whose research, teaching and public service focus on stimulating new research into the chemical, microbiology and/or engineering phases of the dairy foods industry."

The Parker Chair was held by Professor W. James (Jim) Harper from 1993-2013. Professor Harper's interest in dairy foods was very broad and encompassed microbiology, chemistry and processing.

Current Chair Holder: In May 2016 Dr. Rafael Jimenez-Flores assumed the role of the JT Parker Chair in Dairy Foods. Dr. Jimenez-Flores comes to us from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo where he had been a professor and served as the Director of the Cal Poly Center for Applications in Biotechnology from 2013 - 2016. His focus on education is to develop the curriculum of dairy processing for undergraduate students, and help graduate students find relevance in their research as it applies to dairy products, processes and human health. Dr. Jiménez-Flores research has a strong connection with the interrelationship of dairy foods and dairy components with human nutrition and well-being. To this end his research group applies principles of chemistry, biochemistry, physics and biotechnology in the laboratory and Pilot Plant environments.


  • The Dale A. Seiberling Dairy and Food Engineering Professorship

Established in 2001, the Dale A. Seiberling Excellence in Dairy Endowment funds the Dale A. Seiberling Dairy and Food Engineering Professorship. The faculty member appointed to the endowed professorship will serve five-year terms at the pleasure of the CFAES Dean. The objective of the endowment is to obtain an internationally recognized food engineer, with some background in dairy engineering, to investigate current significant industrial problems in food engineering. This should include at least 30% attention to problems of concern to the dairy industry. In most cases, problems or major concern to dairy industry are also of equal concern in all areas of the food industry. The endowment also makes provisions for the “Jean F. Seiberling Scholarship” for graduate students as well as support for distinguished visitors to the dairy and food engineering program; annual research in dairy and food engineering that advances the mission of the food engineering program; and support for special programs in dairy and food engineering as identified by students, faculty, staff, and dairy and food industry representatives.

Dale A. Seiberling was an Instructor in Dairy Technology during the 1950s, when automation was being incorporated into dairy processing plant operations.  He became the champion of Cleaning-In-Place (CIP), as the approach to reduce the significant amounts of hand washing labor required to ensure the efficient and safe operations of a dairy plant.  In the years that followed, Dale was a part of several companies, and eventually his own company, and became the “Father of CIP” throughout the food industry and the pharmaceutical industry.  

Dr. Dennis Heldman was appointed the Dale A. Seiberling Endowed Professor in Food Engineering in August 2012.





  • The Virginia Hutchison Bazler and Frank E. Bazler Designated Professorship in Food Science

Established in 2008 to support a professorship position in area of food science, with preference given to food safety, in the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Science for a duration of five years.

The professorship has been made possible by Ginny and Frank Bazler of Troy, Ohio. Mrs. Bazler received her bachelor’s degree from the School of Home Economics when it was housed in the College of Agriculture, which is now CFAES. Her father also served as associate dean of the college. The Bazler’s have been equally generous with a similar gift to the Moritz College of Law, where Mr. Bazler was president of his class in 1953. They’ve worked hard to equalize their support to both of their areas of learning and believe strongly that their gifts can be helpful in retaining good professors with outstanding teaching skills.

Since July 1, 2008, Dr. Ahmed Yousef has served as the Bazler Professor of Food Science.