CFAES Give Today

Department of Food Science and Technology


Food Science and Technology News: March 2020 Highlights

  • Congratulations to Dr. Valente B. Alvarez, Heather Bell, Matt Papic, Steven Simmons, and Gary Wenneker at the Wilbur A. Gould Food Industries Center on receiving the 2020 Group Excellence In Safety Award. The FIC team was recognized for developing an annual safety training program for graduate teaching assistants in the department. Each year the University Laboratory Safety Committee’s Excellence in Safety Award recognizes a laboratory research group who have made a considerable contribution to improving laboratory safety on the Ohio State campus.
  • Congratulations to Mike Nelson, Madeline Baker, Kirsten Lower, Gabriella Gephart, Melanie Petitti, and Emily Thimmes who were recently selected as FST Peer Mentors for the 2020/21 Academic Year. They will join Philip Eberly, Lydia Tantalo and Meegan Gould who are returning mentors. We also want to give a big shout out to our graduating seniors for their service to our department as FST Peer Mentors; Caleb Metzcar, Maddy Fomich, Allison Miller, Shannon McMahon, Jenna Fryer and Kelly Deatherage (AU19 Grad).
  • Congratulations to the following students who placed at the OVIFT student poster competition: 1st - Walaa Hussein; 2ndAbbie Sommer; 3rdMaria Cotter; Finalist(s) – Amy Andes, Emily Campbell, and Ellia La.
  • Congratulations to PhD student Katie Williamson on being selected to receive the Phi Tau Sigma Founders' Scholarship.
  • Dr. Jess Cooperstone, Dr. Emmanuel Hatzakis, Dr. Barb Kowalcyk, and Dr. Yael Vodovotz participated in a panel discussion about their research during the recent Ohio Food Industry Summit. The panel was moderated by Dr. Dennis Heldman.
  • Dr. Valente B. Alvarez led the Food Industries Center’s Better Process Control School on March 9-12, with lectures from Matt Papic, Steven Simmons, and expert industry collaborators. Daily lectures were offered in microbiology, acidified and low-acid foods, container closures and handling, thermal processing, and recordkeeping. This course satisfies the training requirements specified in both the FDA and USDA regulations designed to prevent public health problems in low-acid and acidified low-acid canned foods.
  • Nominations are open for the 2020 FST Hall of Distinction. Established in 2013, the Hall of Distinction seeks to recognize graduates and friends of the Department of Food Science and Technology at The Ohio State University who have made significant contributions to the food science and technology profession. Click here for more information and the nomination form.
  • Know of a great food scientist in industry or academia but they’re NOT from Ohio State? Nominations are being accepted for suitable candidates from all persons or groups in the food science profession for the 2020 OSU Harris Award for Excellence in Food Science & Technology. The purpose of the Harris Award at The Ohio State University is to celebrate excellence in food science, food technology or related disciplines. Click here for more information.