CFAES Give Today

Department of Food Science and Technology


Food Science and Technology News: March 2017 Highlights

  • Dr. Bala Balasubramaniam has been named the 2017 recipient of the Calvert L. Willey Distinguished Service Award and will be recognized at the IFT Annual Meeting.
  • Dr. Emmanuel Hatzakis has been named the 2017 recipient of the Samuel Cate Prescott Award for Research and will be recognized during the IFT Annual Meeting.
  • Congratulations to Dr. Monica Giusti who has been selected to receive the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA) Educator Award. She will be recognized during the NATCA Conference this June at Purdue University. One of the central purposes of NACTA is to recognize those individuals whose efforts represent the very best in agricultural higher education.
  • Congratulations to Matt Teegarden who has been selected as a recipient of the Outstanding Graduate / Professional Student Award. He will be awarded the recognition at the 2017 Ohio State Leadership Awards which are scheduled for Friday April 21st, 2017.
  • New Hope Network highlighted the study examining the impact of ‘All Natural” labeling by Dr. Chris Simons that recently appeared in the Journal of Food Science.
  • Dr. Hua Wang won the OSU Accelerator Award from Tech Licensing for her research on The New Generation of Probiotics.
  • Dr. Jiyoung Lee’s research with microcystin exposure from food is featured in an article in Twine Line, a publication of Ohio Sea Grant and NOAA.
  • Welcome to Dr. Srilatha Kolluri, who has been hired as a Lecturer in the department.
  • Dr. Yael Vodovotz was highlighted as a volunteer with IFT in the February 2017 issue of Food Technology
  • FST was well represented at the 2017 Edward F. Hayes Graduate Research Forum this year. Jacob Farr placed first and Mengyuan Fan, Megan Kemski, and Yu Li all participated in the Agriculture and Environmental Science oral presentations. Musfirah Zulkurnain placed first, Shreya Kamat got honorable mention and Sangeetha Krishnaswamy, and Xiaoying Zhao presented posters in Engineering, Math, and Physical Science. Walaa Hussien placed third in the Biological Sciences poster presentation.
  • Megan Hoehn, Anna Schmenk and Katie Uhl all participated in the CFAES undergraduate research forum and did a great job representing our department. Congratulations to Megan who placed 1st and Anna who placed 2nd in the Food Science category.
  • Congratulations to our student product development team of Jessica Miao, Ayna Arora and Morgan Whitecotton for the first place finish in the American Society of Baking Product Development Competition! Their product was the TriSprout Thins--a nutritive baked rosemary and garlic snack made with sprouted amaranth, spelt, and whole wheat flours.
  • The department was well represented at the 2017 Denman Undergraduate Research Forum. The following FST students presented: Michael Arato (advised by Chris Simons), Megan Hoehn (advised by Monica Giusti), Anna Schmenk (advised by Luis Rodriguez), Katie Uhl (advised by Jess Cooperstone) and Karli Van Simaeys (advised by Chris Simons). In addition, these students presented and are advised by our faculty: Robert Kaufman (advised by Chris Simons) and Samantha Marks (advised by Yael Vodovotz).
  • Congratulations to the following OSUFST students who have been elected as 2017-2018 IFTSA Board of Directors – Katie Williamson, VP of Competitions; Meredith Myers, VP of Digital and Social Media; and Matt Teegarden will serve as the IFTSA past president.
  • We are proud to announce our newly selected FST Peer Mentors for the 2017-2018 academic year: Ayna Arora, Ashley Besancon, Philip Eberly, Kaitlin Lammers, Jin Wei Lee, Caleb Metzcar, Maggie Stegman, and Sarah Steinbrunner. They will be joining our retuning mentors: Lexi Hall, Haley Orwig, Emily Kreinbrink, and Anna Schmenk. We look forward to another successful year as they welcome and assist in the transition with our incoming freshman and transfer students.
  • Ph.D. student Yu Li won the ASM Conference travel award for her work on the impact of agricultural production operation practices on antibiotic resistance in food animals, as well as antibiotic resistance dissemination associated with oyster consumption, using metagenomics and data analysis.
  • PhD student Geoffrey Dubrow is the recipient of The 2017 Jogue Incorporated Scholarship Award, administered by The Society of Flavor Chemist (SFC). Geoff will be officially awarded in May at the Society of Flavor Chemists Annual meeting in Newark, NJ, where he will also present his research on improving the flavor of sugar-free fruit spreads through flavoromics.
  • Congratulations to MS student James Stone who has been inducted into Phi Tau Sigma, The Honor Society of Food Science and Technology.
  • MS student Mackenzie Hannum recently posted in the IFTSA Blog Science Meets Food “Coming clean … about labels”.
  • The Food Industries Center presented research findings of their annual tomato processing research project at the Mid America Food Processors Association’s (MAFPA) meeting in March. During the meeting, the MAFPA Board of Directors selected three scholarship recipients from the Department of Food Science and Technology: the Wilbur A. Gould Scholarship - Ayna Arora, the Paul G. Korn Scholarship - Hannah Maringo, the Flavorchem Scholarship- Ashley Besancon.
  • The OVIFT Poster competition was held during a CFAES-OVIFT event in our department. OVIFT generously awarded $14,500.00 in prize money to students. Congratulations to the following students: Graduate Category - 1st place Didem Peren Aykas, 2nd place recipients Jacob Farr, Michelle Gerst, Shreya Kamat, Peipei Tang and Musfirah Zulkurnain. Anna Schmenk placed 1st in the Undergraduate Category.
  • His Excellency José Ramón Cabañas Rodríguez, the Ambassador of Cuba, visited Columbus this month and during the visit he toured the FST department where Dr. Yael Vodovotz and Dr. Steve Clinton spoke to him about the Center for Advanced Functional Foods Research and Entrepreneurship (CAFFRE).
  • Dr. Hua Wang recently organized and chaired the ASM Conference on Innovative Microbial Ecology for Mitigation of Antibiotic Resistance and Bacterial Diseases. Experts in medicine, food safety, agriculture, public health, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, and environmental sciences from all over the country, as well as EU and China, presented cutting-edge discoveries and a comprehensive picture of antibiotic resistance.

Upcoming Events

April 3-4 FREC Survey of Flavor Science
FREC short course

April 6 Citation Needed hosts Professor David Hughes, 12 noon - 1:15 pm
Event registration

April 6 Foods for Health Discovery Theme seminar with Dr. James Harnly
2:30 - 3:30 pm, Parker 118

April 13 Foods for Health Discovery Theme seminar with Dr. Carolyn Slupsky
2:30 - 3:30 pm, Parker 118

May 4 Foods for Health Discovery Theme seminar with Dr. Bart Weimer
2:30 - 3:30 pm, Parker 118

May 5 FST Spring Graduation Party
2:30 – 3:30 pm, Parker Food Science Lobby

May 17-18 1st Annual Conference on Food and Nutritional Metabolomics