• The department recently hosted over 100 students and guests for the department’s annual scholarship dinner. This past year over $128,000 was awarded in scholarships to 65 students from the department.
    • Dr. Yael Vodovotz and the CAFFRE program were on hand with CFAES and the James at the Farm Science Review to receive a check from the Growing the Cure Cooperatives.
    • We are pleased to announce the 2018 OSU FST Hall of Distinction recipients:
      Dr. John Litchfield
      Mr. Carl Obenauf
      Mr. William Spain
      Dr. Ira Gould – posthumous
      Mr. Lester Stauffer – posthumous
    • The Institute of Food Technologist’s IFT18 was held in Chicago this month and our department was well represented during the annual meeting. We had over 35 students and faculty participating this year in some capacity that included, but not limited to, poster presentations, competition finalists, student leadership, panelists, and speakers. OSUFST highlights during the meeting included:
      IFT Achievement Awards
      Dr. Denny Heldman received the Nicolas Appert Award
    • Congratulations to Dr. Robert Gravani who has been selected as the 2018 Harris Award recipient. Dr. Gravani is Professor Emeritus of Food Science in the Department of Food Science and Director Emeritus of the National Good Agricultural Practices at Cornell University. The 2018 Harris Award lecture will take place on Wednesday, November 7th at 4 pm in the Parker Food Science and Technology building, during our Autumn Food Science Seminar Series.
    • The department graduated 21 undergraduate students, 3 Masters students, and 4 PhD’s during the spring semester graduation. Congratulations and best of luck to our new alumni.
    • During our department’s spring semester graduation party, a number of awards were announced including:
      Dr. Matt Teegarden received the 2018 Pamela Parker Garten and Tom Parker graduate scholarship.
      Hannah Mehle received the 2017-2018 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award.
    • The CFAES Celebration of Students banquet took place this month and the department was well represented:
      Dr. Bill Hildebolt received the Meritorious Service to Students award
      Anna Schmenk and Daniel Sosh were recognized as rank 4 Newcomb Scholars
      Ashley Besancon was recognized as a rank 2 Newcomb Scholar
      Emily Kreinbrink received the CFAES Internship Award for FST
      Citation Needed received the ‘New Activity’ award for their screening of Food Evolution.
    • Congratulations to the following faculty on their 2018 IFT Achievement Award. The Nicolas Appert Award will be awarded to Dr. Dennis Heldman, the William V. Cruess Award for Excellence in Teaching will be awarded to Dr. Luis Rodriguez-Saona, the Stephen S. Chang Award for Lipid or Flavor Science will be awarded to Dr. Devin Peterson and the Samuel Cate Prescott Award for Research will be awarded to Dr. Barb Kowalcyk. The awards celebration will take place at IFT18 in Chicago on Sunday, July 15th.
    • The Ohio State University Board of Trustees has approved establishment of the William and Sandra Hildebolt Innovation and Entrepreneurial Endowed Fund. The annual distribution from this fund shall be used to promote student innovation and entrepreneurial activities in the Department of Food Science & Technology.
    • Dr. Emmanuel Hatzakis and Dr. Dennis Heldman both had their proposed research projects recently funded through Seeds: The OARDC Research Enhancement Competitive Grants Program.
    • Congratulations to the following FST friends and Alumni who will be recognized during the 2018 CFAES Alumni Awards luncheon on March 4, 2018.
      Meritorious Service Award
      Dale Seiberling (`50, BS, `51, MS, Dairy Technology)
      Young Professional Award
      Nutsuda Sumonsiri (PhD (2012) Bang Sue, Bangkok, Thailand)
      Distinguished Alumni Award
      Rohini Desai Mulchandani (PhD (1976) Worthington, OH)
    • The department has received the International HACCP Alliance accreditation for the spring semester HACCP class. Dr. Mary Kay Pohlschneider is the course instructor. Upon completion of the students will now receive a HACCP training certificate.
    • The department recently had the opportunity to host Stephen Ostroff, M.D., the FDA's Deputy Commissioner for Foods and Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Ostroff was able to tour our facility and meet with faculty to give him a better understanding of our department and our capabilities.