• The Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention (CFI) at The Ohio State University will hold its inaugural event, “Translating Science Into Policy and Practice: What are the food safety priorities?” on Nov. 14 at the Drake Performance and Event Center. The event will include a food safety panel discussion featuring: Mindy Brashears, PhD, Deputy Under Secretary for Food Safety, Food Safety and Inspection Service, U.S.
    • Dr. Barb Kowalcyk is bringing the Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention (CFI) to Ohio State. CFI will provide a centralized location for food safety resources, researchers, faculty, and staff from several Ohio State colleges and departments including the College of Public Health, the John Glenn College of Public Affairs, the College of Veterinary Medicine, and the College of Education and Human Ecology.
    • Congratulations to Mehmood Khan, MD who has been selected as the 2019 Harris Award recipient. Dr. Khan is Chief Executive Officer and Board Member of Life Biosciences Inc. and former Global Vice Chairman and Chief Scientific Officer of Global Research and Development at PepsiCo.
    • We are pleased to announce the 2019 OSU FST Hall of Distinction recipients:
      Dr. Dennis Heldman
      Ms. Beth Kloos
      Ms. Karen Milley
      Dr. John Mount
      Dr. Rodney Plimpton - posthumous
      Dr. Henry Randolph - posthumous

    • Dr. Devin Peterson has been named the faculty director for the Foods for Health (FFH) program, part of the Discovery Themes initiative.
    • Dr. Rafael Jiménez-Flores, the J. T. “Stubby” Parker Endowed Chair in Dairy Foods, assumed the role of president of the American Dairy Science Association® (ADSA®) during the 2019 ADSA Annual Meeting held earlier this month. He will serve as president of the association for one year.
    • The department graduated 29 undergraduate students, 4 Masters students, and 2 PhD’s during the spring semester graduation. Congratulations and best of luck to our new alumni.
    • During our department’s spring semester graduation party, a number of awards were announced including:
    • Rob Hallinan received the 2019 Pamela Parker Garten and Tom Parker graduate scholarship. Amy Andes and Emily Campbell received the 2018-201 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award.
    • There were a number of awards and honors for students, faculty, and supporters of our department at the CFAES Celebration of Students event. The event was dedicated to FST adjunct faculty member Dr.
    • Congratulations to Dr. Rafael Jimenez-Flores who has received a 2019 North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA) Educator Award. He will be recognized during the NATCA Conference this June. One of the central purposes of NACTA is to recognize those individuals whose efforts represent the very best in agricultural higher education
    • Congratulations to the following faculty on their 2019 IFT Achievement Award. Dr. Valente Alvarez will receive the Bor S. Luh International Award, Dr. Mary Kay Pohlschneider will receive the Elizabeth Fleming Stier Award, Dr. Ahmed Yousef will receive the Gerhard Haas Award, Dr. Ken Lee will receive the Myron Solberg Award, and Dr. Monica Giusti will receive the William V. Cruess Excellence in Teaching Award.
    • We welcome Dr. Osvaldo Campanella to the department as the Carl E. Haas Endowed Chair in Food Industries. Dr. Campanella holds a degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina and a PhD in Food Engineering from the University of Massachusetts. He has served as faculty in the Department of Food Technology, Massey University where he focused his research on Food Engineering, Heat Transfer Modeling, Food Extrusion, Rheology and Dairy Technology.