CFAES Give Today

Department of Food Science and Technology



  • Congratulations FST SP22 Graduates!

    • Congratulations to Dr. Rafael Jimenez-Flores and Dr. Melvin Pascall on being named 2022 Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) Achievement Award recipients. Dr. Jimenez-Flores received the Excellence in Education Award in Honor of William V. Cruess and Dr. Melvin Pascall received the International Food Security Award in Honor of Bor S. Luh. They will be recognized during the IFT Annual Meeting this July in Chicago.
    • Dr. Monica Giusti was officially recognized as one of three 2021-2022 CFAES Distinguished Professors during the 2022 CFAES Awards program. In addition, Dr. Rafael Jimenez-Flores received the CFAES Innovator of the Year Award,  Dr. Luis Rodriguez-Saona received the CFAES Distinguished Teacher Award,  Dr. Brian Waters received the CFAES Distinguished Teaching by a Lecturer, Dr.
    • Congratulations to FST undergraduate students Meegan Gould, Thania Ortiz-Santiago, Lydia Tantalo, and Emily Thimmes who have been named 2022 CFAES Distinguished Seniors. They are four of the twenty-six seniors who have received the most prestigious undergraduate award at The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES).
    • Ohio State News featured a study recently published in the journal Food Quality and Preference that indicates perception can outrank taste buds in consumer sensory testing. Dr. Christopher Simons was the lead author of the study and co-authors included Dr. Maria Cotter, Morgan Whitecotton, and Dr. Devin Peterson. Dr.
    • Dr. Monica Giusti has been named a 2021 CFAES Distinguished Professor. The title of Distinguished Professor of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences honors colleagues at the rank of Professor who have excelled in teaching, research, or outreach/engagement, and whose work has demonstrated significant impact on their fields, students, CFAES, and University, and/or the public. It is essential that such professorships are reserved for the most distinguished faculty.
  • Congratulations FST AU21 Graduates!

         Once again, graduating FST students have been given an opportunity to share with us some of their favorite memories of their time at Ohio State in this special edition newsletter. Many also took the opportunity to give a shoutout to those that supported them, befriended them, and helped make the journey one to remember.

    • Congratulations to Dr. VM ‘Bala’ Balasubramaniam on being elected as a Fellow of the Indian Society of Agricultural Engineers.
    • Congratulations to Professor Dr. Bala Balasubramaniam for being appointed to the USDA NAREEE Advisory Board. The NAREEE Advisory Board provides feedback to the Secretary of Agriculture, to USDA’s Research, Education, and Economics (REE) mission area, and to land-grant colleges and universities on food and agricultural research, education, extension and economics priorities and policies. The Advisory Board also provides reports and recommendations to the appropriate agricultural committees of the U.S.
    • Dr. Kathryn Boor, the 2020-2021 Harris Award recipient, will be presenting the 2021 Harris Award Lecture on Wednesday, October 27 as a part of the Department’s Seminar Series. The seminar begins at 4 pm in Parker Food Science and Technology room 118 with a reception for Dr. Boor immediately following in the lobby of the Department. The seminar is open to the public. Dr. Boor is the Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Graduate Education at Cornell University.