CFAES Give Today

Department of Food Science and Technology



  1. Sheryl Barringer honored as Food Systems Leadership Institute Fellow

    Dec 17, 2020

    Sheryl Barringer was one of twenty-five Fellows of the Food Systems Leadership Institute (FSLI) who were honored November 4th during a recognition ceremony in the virtual annual meeting of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU).  The Fellows were recognized for their accomplishments in completing the FSLI executive leadership development program and for contributions they have made to their individual organizations and the broader higher education and food systems. 

  2. Co-op gift funds food-based cancer research

    Dec 15, 2020

    COLUMBUS, Ohio—A $190,000 gift to the Cooperatives for the Cure Cancer Fund boosts food-based cancer research at The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James), and Ohio State’s College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES). The fund was created with the hope of finding a common goal for agricultural cooperatives to work together on bettering their communities through the support of cancer research. 

  3. Ahmed Yousef named a CFAES Distinguished Professor

    Dec 11, 2020

    Congratulations to Dr. Ahmed Yousef who has been named a 2020 CFAES Distinguished Professor.

  4. Monica Giusti Named Fellow to National Academy of Inventors

    Dec 8, 2020

    Congratulations to Dr. Monica Giusti on being selected as a Fellow by the 2020 National Academy of Inventors (NAI) Fellows Selection Committee and Board of Directors. The Selection Committee noted that Dr. Giusti was chosen for induction because she “demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.”

  5. Phi Tau Sigma

    Students inducted into Phi Tau Sigma

    Nov 20, 2020

    Congratulations to MS students Peyton Greenwood, Wooju Lim, Abigail Krentz and PhD student Chong Teng who have recently been inducted into Phi Tau Sigma. Phi Tau Sigma (ΦΤΣ) is the one and only Honor Society for Food Science and Technology.

  6. CFAES food safety center in Kenya

    CFAES food safety center to research food safety in Kenya

    Nov 16, 2020

    The Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention (CFI) at The Ohio State University has been awarded a $770,000 grant to improve food safety and prevent foodborne illnesses in Kenya.

  7. PhD student Brittany Miles wins the Jean F. Caul Award

    Nov 10, 2020

    Congratulations to PhD student Brittany Miles who won the Jean F. Caul Award for Outstanding presentation on the Use of Scientific Principles at the recent 2020 virtual conference for Society of Sensory Professionals.
    The Society of Sensory Professionals is a 501(c) non-profit organization devoted to developing and promoting the field of sensory science. Their mission is to advance the field of sensory evaluation, including consumer research, and the role/work of sensory professionals, for the purpose of sharing knowledge, exchanging ideas, mentoring, and educating its members.

  8. $100,000 gift to CFAES to support food safety

    Oct 20, 2020

    COLUMBUS, Ohio—A new endowed fund to support food safety has been established thanks to a $100,000 gift from Bill Marler and Marler Clark LLP PS, The Food Safety Law Firm.

    The gift, presented to The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) Oct. 1, brings the fund’s total to $169,863 and establishes it as a permanent endowment for The Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention (CFI). 

  9. Changing a Paradigm: Have We Simply Used the Drugs in the Wrong Way?

    Sep 30, 2020

    Last week, the number of deaths caused by COVID-19 in the U.S. surpassed 200,000. Underlying or “modern” diseases, such as diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and malfunctions of the immune system, are a leading cause of the severe illness and death outcomes with COVID-19. So, what caused the surge of these diseases and, consequently, the susceptibility to severe outcomes with COVID-19? According to professor of food science and microbiology Hua Helen Wang, the answer lies in our gut.  

  10. Dr. Devin Peterson

    Dr. Devin Peterson Selected as One of CFAES’s Inaugural Dean’s Chairs

    Sep 25, 2020

    CFAES Vice President for Agricultural Administration & Dean Dr. Cathann A. Kress has announced Dr. Devin Peterson, as one of CFAES’ inaugural Dean’s Chairs. Dr. Peterson is a Distinguished Professor of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences in Flavor Science, Faculty Director for the Foods for Health Discovery Themes, Director of the Flavor Research and Education Center, and Co-Director of Nutrient & Phytochemical Analytic Shared Resource. The term of the Dean’s Chair will be four years beginning on September 1, 2020 through August 31, 2024.