CFAES Give Today

Department of Food Science and Technology



  1. Dr. Luis Rodriguez-Saona awarded the 2021 Lumley Interdisciplinary Research Award

    Mar 16, 2021

    Congratulations to Dr. Luis Rodriguez-Saona on receiving the 2021 Lumley Interdisciplinary Research Award. His collaborative research team also included Christopher Ball from the ElectroScience Laboratory and Vimal Buck from the Center for Design and Manufacturing Excellence. This award recognizes their dedication to advancing collaborative research at the Ohio State University.

  2. FST Peer Mentors selected for 2021-2022

    Mar 15, 2021

    Congratulations to our newly selected Food Science and Technology Peer Mentors for the 2021-2022 academic year: Rachel Barrett, Betsy Cunningham, Jenny Cong and Cameron Rich. They will be joining existing members Gabriella Gephart, Meegan Gould, Kirsten Lower, Melanie Petitti, Lydia Tantalo and Emily Thimmes. The FST Peer Mentor Program pairs upper-class students with new first-year and transfer students to ease their transition into their major and to the Columbus campus.

  3. 2020 FSLI Fellows

    How (and why) CFAES faculty should apply for the Food Systems Leadership Institute

    Mar 3, 2021

    If you’re a faculty member in CFAES and are thinking about applying for the national Food Systems Leadership Institute (FSLI), Sheryl Barringer has some advice for you.

    “Do it!”

    Barringer, who is professor and chair of the CFAES Department of Food Science and Technology, recently completed FSLI’s intensive leadership development program.

  4. Dr. Melvin Pascall

    DEI Faculty and Staff Spotlight: Dr. Melvin Pascall

    Mar 2, 2021

    This month's DEI Faculty and Staff Spotlight features Dr. Melvin Pascall who is a professor in the Department of Food Science and Technology (FST). Dr. Pascall currently serves as a member of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee in FST. He has also served on the CFAES DEI Committee from 2015 to 2017 and the Promotion and Tenure (P&T) Committee at the departmental level where he was the Procedure Oversight Designee (POD) during 2018.

  5. Congratulations to the Food Science and Technology 2021 Distinguished Seniors

    Feb 19, 2021

    COLUMBUS, Ohio—Twenty-five seniors have received the most prestigious undergraduate award at The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES).

    The Distinguished Senior Award honors top graduating seniors on the Ohio State Columbus campus who exemplify the CFAES mission in areas such as academics and scholarship, research and innovation, service and involvement, and influence and leadership.

  6. 2020 Autumn Semester Dean's List

    Feb 5, 2021

    Congratulations to the Food Science, Food Business Management, and Culinary Science students who were named to the 2020 Autumn Semester Dean’s List.
    To qualify for this recognition, these students completed a minimum of 12 graded credit hours with a GPA of 3.5 or higher for the Autumn 2020 semester.

    Food Science
    Lydia Ainsworth
    Eric Barbey
    Rachel Barrett
    Anna Carroll
    Yesen Cheng
    Naomi Chongsiriwatana
    James Chung
    Grayson Craig
    Noah Dameron
    Philip Eberly
    Jacqueline Fox

  7. Photo:

    Using candy to sniff out probable cases of COVID-19

    Jan 26, 2021

    Research team develops method to screen for taste and smell loss
    COLUMBUS, Ohio – Scientists have proposed that using a cheap and simple product – hard candy – to screen for the loss of taste and smell in populations at risk for COVID-19 exposure may help detect probable positive cases in otherwise asymptomatic people.

  8. FST Staff Member Recognized by CFAES

    Jan 22, 2021

    David Kasler received the Innovation Award during the 2021 CFAES Awards celebration. David works as a research engineer in Dr. Ahmed Yousef's lab and has been instrumental in their work ozonating eggs for commercialization. The Innovation Award is given to someone who or has developed and/or participated in project initiatives and/or process operations improvements that enhance CFAES, Extension, ATI or OARDC and its mission.

  9. CFAES names Ahmed Yousef one of three 2020–2021 Distinguished Professors

    Jan 22, 2021

    By the CFAES News Team.

    COLUMBUS, Ohio—The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) has announced three faculty members as its 2020–2021 Distinguished Professors of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, recognizing the excellence of their work in the college’s three missions—teaching, research, and outreach and engagement—and the significant impact they have had in their fields.

    They are:

  10. Dr. Chris Simons Awarded NIH Grant

    Dec 31, 2020

    Dr. Chris Simons received a National Institutes of Health (NIH) grant to develop a novel test to independently assess smell and taste function in individuals who are at high risk for contracting COVID-19. The National Institutes of Health has awarded over $107 million to support new, non-traditional approaches and reimagined uses of existing tools to address gaps in COVID-19 testing and surveillance.