CFAES Give Today

Department of Food Science and Technology


Students inducted into Phi Tau Sigma

Nov. 20, 2020
Phi Tau Sigma

Congratulations to MS students Peyton Greenwood, Wooju Lim, Abigail Krentz and PhD student Chong Teng who have recently been inducted into Phi Tau Sigma. Phi Tau Sigma (ΦΤΣ) is the one and only Honor Society for Food Science and Technology.

The mission of Phi Tau Sigma is to raise the stature and recognize scholarly achievements of the Food Science and Technology profession. This mission is achieved by encouraging outstanding achievement by Food Science students and professionals, and by enhancing professionals among Food Science professionals through the Phi Tau Sigma member network.

Purposes of Phi Tau Sigma include:

  • To recognize and honor professional achievements of Food Scientists and Technologists,
  • To encourage the application of fundamental scientific principles to Food Science and Technology in each of its branches,
  • To stimulate the exchange of scientific knowledge through meetings, lectures, and publications,
  • To establish and maintain a network of like-minded professionals, and
  • To promote exclusively charitable, scientific, literary, and educational programs.

The Ohio State Buckeye Chapter of Phi Tau Sigma is a student-driven organization specifically aiming to raise the stature of the Ohio food science academic, regulatory, and industry professions. The focus of the Buckeye Chapter is to help students develop professional skills and build networks with food professionals.
This year’s Ohio State Buckeye Chapter Phi Tau Sigma president is Maria Cotter, and the treasurer is Shengyue Shan. The group is advised by Dr. Sheryl Barringer, Dr. Dennis Heldman, and Dr. Ken Lee.

PTS inductees