CFAES Give Today

Department of Food Science and Technology


OSU College Bowl Team Wins Midwest Competition

April 14, 2014

Congratulations to the OSU College Bowl Team for their recent win at the IFTSA Midwest Area competition in Knoxville, TN!  

The team is captained by John Frelka and includes Matt Teegarden, Jacob Farr, Olivia Geoghegan, Hilary Goetz, Ron Bangcuyo, Alex Pierce, Greg Sigurdson, Ty Thammakulkrajang, Mei-Ling Shotts, and Paul Park.  The team is advised by Mary Kay Pohlschneider and John Litchfield.

Since 1985, the IFTSA College Bowl Competition has tested the knowledge of student teams from across the United States in the areas of food science and technology, history of foods and food processing, food law, and general IFT/food-related trivia. The College Bowl, sponsored by the IFT Student Association and General Mills, Inc., is designed to facilitate interaction among students from different universities, stimulate the students' desire to accumulate and retain knowledge, and provide a forum for students to engage in friendly competition. Teams for IFT Student Chapters in six geographical areas of the Student Association compete in area competitions prior to the IFT Annual Meeting. The winning teams from the six areas then compete in a final competition at the Annual Meeting.

As the Midwest Area winner, the team will now advance to compete at the IFT Annual Meeting and Food Expo in June in New Orleans.