CFAES Give Today

Department of Food Science and Technology


Ohio State CFAES names 2020 Distinguished Seniors

March 24, 2020

COLUMBUS, Ohio—Twenty-five students have been named 2020 Distinguished Seniors at The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES).

The award honors top graduating seniors on the Ohio State Columbus campus who exemplify the CFAES mission in areas such as academics and scholarship, research and innovation, service and involvement, and influence and leadership.

“The Distinguished Senior Award is the most prestigious undergraduate award in CFAES,” said Steven Neal, CFAES professor and associate dean for academic programs. “Recipients are our future innovators and leaders who have already made an impact within the academic environment at this university and beyond.”

Listed below are the Distinguished Seniors, including their academic units, majors, and hometowns.

Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership
Caleb Hickman, agriscience education, Mount Vernon, Ohio
Meredith Oglesby, agricultural communication, Hillsboro, Ohio
Marlee Stollar, agriscience education, Marietta, Ohio

Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics
Mary Buehler, agribusiness and applied economics, Anna, Ohio
Katie Garen, agribusiness and applied economics, Mount Sterling, Ohio

Department of Animal Sciences
James Constantino, animal sciences, Poughkeepsie, New York
Kady Davis, animal sciences, Carrollton, Ohio
Caleb Rykaczewski, animal sciences, Mentor, Ohio
Emilia Sgambati, animal sciences, Farmington Hills, Michigan
Hailey Snyder, animal sciences, Boardman, Ohio

Department of Entomology
Hannah McKenzie, entomology, Westerville, Ohio

Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Asaad Ahmad, construction systems management, Columbus, Ohio
Matthew Klopfenstein, food, agricultural and biological engineering, Marysville, Ohio
Tanner Matthews, agricultural systems management, Ohio City, Ohio
Louis Mezzopera, construction systems management, Chardon, Ohio
Rex Tietje, agricultural systems management, Deshler, Ohio

Department of Food Science and Technology
Simone Fishel, food science and technology, Dublin, Ohio
Jenna Fryer, food science and technology, North Syracuse, New York
Megan Gregg, food science and technology, West Chester, Ohio
Amber Zehringer, food business management, Greenville, Ohio

Department of Horticulture and Crop Science
Patrick Lynch, professional golf management, Marysville, Ohio
Rose Vagedes, sustainable plant systems, agronomy, Fort Recovery, Ohio

Department of Plant Pathology
Isaac Knowles, plant health management, Marysville, Ohio

School of Environment and Natural Resources
Callia Tellez, environmental policy and decision making, Dayton, Ohio
Lauren Trapani, environment, economy, development and sustainability, Old Orchard Beach, Maine

An awards dinner to recognize all 25 winners was planned for March 25, but has been canceled due to COVID-19.

“The safety of our community is our top priority,” Neal said. “We are deeply sorry the planned celebration will not occur; however, this honor and these students remain an important focus of our college. Their commitment to their education and dedication to their time as an undergraduate student will still be recognized with a special award package that will be mailed to each student.”

In autumn 2019, there were 2,486 undergraduate students in CFAES pursuing 22 majors and 31 minors. Learn more about CFAES academic programs here.

Sherrie R. Whaley, Ph.D.

R. Warren Flood