1. FST Chair Sheryl Barringer and Devin Peterson

    Dr. Devin Peterson Selected as One of CFAES’s Inaugural Dean’s Chairs

    Sep 17, 2020

    CFAES Vice President for Agricultural Administration & Dean Dr. Cathann A. Kress has announced Dr. Devin Peterson, as one of CFAES’ inaugural Dean’s Chairs. Dr. Peterson is a Distinguished Professor of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences in Flavor Science, Faculty Director for the Foods for Health Discovery Themes, Director of the Flavor Research and Education Center, and Co-Director of Nutrient & Phytochemical Analytic Shared Resource. The term of the Dean’s Chair will be four years beginning on September 1, 2020 through August 31, 2024. 

  2. Jiyoung Lee, left, and Yuehan Ai, a PhD student in food science and technology

    Looking for a COVID-19 early warning

    Sep 9, 2020

    Public health professor’s lab monitoring campus, state wastewater

    Hard at work on the fourth floor of Cunz Hall, a team of researchers is helping detect the prevalence of COVID-19 on campus and in communities across Ohio.

    By testing wastewater on its way to treatment plants for coronavirus RNA, the team — led by Professor of Environmental Health Sciences Jiyoung Lee — is gathering valuable data that could predict where COVID-19 outbreaks may soon occur.

  3. Work in the Time of COVID

    Work in the Time of COVID: Creatively Fighting Coronavirus

    Sep 1, 2020

    As former President of Sino-Micro, The Overseas Chinese Society for Microbiology, FST Professor Hua Wang was thinking about coronavirus long before it arrived in the United States. “In January, they already had a shortage of PPE in Wuhan. While masks have been essential for protection, the disposable medical mask production capacity would not meet the demand for global mask-wearing. And I started thinking, ‘how could I help?’” Wang said. But what is a scientist locked out of her lab to do?

  4. FST Awards over $185,000 to Undergraduates

    Aug 31, 2020

    In a year when much of the news has been negative, many undergraduates in the Department of Food Science and Technology (FST) will begin the year on a more positive note. FST's substantial scholarship program awarded $185,250 to its undergraduates for the 2020-2021 year!

  5. CFAES’ Cooperstone recognized for research that improves tomato nutrition

    Aug 14, 2020

    Congratulations to Jessica Cooperstone, one of eight early-career scientists selected nationally to receive a 2019 New Innovator Award from the Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research (FFAR). 

    Cooperstone was recognized for her research at The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES).

    Her project, “Improving the nutritional quality of tomatoes,” combines plant breeding/genetics, analytical chemistry, bioinformatics, and nutrition to help develop tomatoes that are healthier for humans. 

  6. Work in the Time of COVID: Balancing Family, Work, and a Pandemic

    Jul 29, 2020

    While we are all undergoing a collective change, each person’s experience of the COVID-19 pandemic is also incredibly personal. For Eric Maul, FST fiscal officer and father to two young children, it is an adjustment that has taken place in stages. Like many parents, the ease of each stage has been largely dependent on a factor outside Eric’s control—childcare.

  7. How adding green tea extract to prepared foods may reduce the risk for norovirus

    Jul 22, 2020

    In study, edible coating made with tea extract killed the virus and bacteria


    Infusing prepared foods with an edible coating that contains green tea extract may lower consumers’ chances of catching the highly contagious norovirus by eating contaminated food, new research suggests.

  8. Dr. Kathryn J. Boor has been selected 2020 Harris Award recipient.

    Jul 20, 2020

    Congratulations to Dr. Kathryn J. Boor on being selected as the 2020 Harris Award recipient. Plans are underway for Dr. Boor to visit Ohio State to present a lecture to the campus community and to engage with the department's faculty and students during Spring Semester 2021.

  9. Work in the Time of COVID: Catching up with Ellia La

    Jun 26, 2020

    Back in March, graduate student Ellia La had just finished her proposal defense, Acylated Anthocyanins: Modulating Photochromism and Its Impact on Bioaccessibility. Life was busy—extracting samples, running experiments, preparing her proposal defense, and completing her dissertation work. Then, things changed.

  10. 43 FST Students Named to CFAES Dean's List.

    Jun 10, 2020

    Congratulations to the 43 students from the Department of Food Science and Technology who were named to the 2020 Spring Semester Dean's List for the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences. To be named to the Dean's List, a student must earn a 3.5 gpa or higher during that semester.

    Food Science
    Katelyn Ballinger
    Nicole Brokschmidt
    Anna Carroll
    Yesen Cheng
    Naomi Chongsiriwatana
    James Chung
    Faith Diller
    Philip Eberly
    Simone Fishel
    Jacqueline Fox
    Jenna Fryer