CFAES Give Today

Department of Food Science and Technology



  1. 2020 Autumn Semester Dean's List

    Feb 5, 2021

    Congratulations to the Food Science, Food Business Management, and Culinary Science students who were named to the 2020 Autumn Semester Dean’s List.
    To qualify for this recognition, these students completed a minimum of 12 graded credit hours with a GPA of 3.5 or higher for the Autumn 2020 semester.

    Food Science
    Lydia Ainsworth
    Eric Barbey
    Rachel Barrett
    Anna Carroll
    Yesen Cheng
    Naomi Chongsiriwatana
    James Chung
    Grayson Craig
    Noah Dameron
    Philip Eberly
    Jacqueline Fox

  2. Photo:

    Using candy to sniff out probable cases of COVID-19

    Jan 26, 2021

    Research team develops method to screen for taste and smell loss
    COLUMBUS, Ohio – Scientists have proposed that using a cheap and simple product – hard candy – to screen for the loss of taste and smell in populations at risk for COVID-19 exposure may help detect probable positive cases in otherwise asymptomatic people.

  3. FST Staff Member Recognized by CFAES

    Jan 22, 2021

    David Kasler received the Innovation Award during the 2021 CFAES Awards celebration. David works as a research engineer in Dr. Ahmed Yousef's lab and has been instrumental in their work ozonating eggs for commercialization. The Innovation Award is given to someone who or has developed and/or participated in project initiatives and/or process operations improvements that enhance CFAES, Extension, ATI or OARDC and its mission.

  4. CFAES names Ahmed Yousef one of three 2020–2021 Distinguished Professors

    Jan 22, 2021

    By the CFAES News Team.

    COLUMBUS, Ohio—The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) has announced three faculty members as its 2020–2021 Distinguished Professors of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, recognizing the excellence of their work in the college’s three missions—teaching, research, and outreach and engagement—and the significant impact they have had in their fields.

    They are:

  5. Dr. Chris Simons Awarded NIH Grant

    Dec 31, 2020

    Dr. Chris Simons received a National Institutes of Health (NIH) grant to develop a novel test to independently assess smell and taste function in individuals who are at high risk for contracting COVID-19. The National Institutes of Health has awarded over $107 million to support new, non-traditional approaches and reimagined uses of existing tools to address gaps in COVID-19 testing and surveillance.

  6. Sheryl Barringer honored as Food Systems Leadership Institute Fellow

    Dec 17, 2020

    Sheryl Barringer was one of twenty-five Fellows of the Food Systems Leadership Institute (FSLI) who were honored November 4th during a recognition ceremony in the virtual annual meeting of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU).  The Fellows were recognized for their accomplishments in completing the FSLI executive leadership development program and for contributions they have made to their individual organizations and the broader higher education and food systems. 

  7. Co-op gift funds food-based cancer research

    Dec 15, 2020

    COLUMBUS, Ohio—A $190,000 gift to the Cooperatives for the Cure Cancer Fund boosts food-based cancer research at The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James), and Ohio State’s College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES). The fund was created with the hope of finding a common goal for agricultural cooperatives to work together on bettering their communities through the support of cancer research. 

  8. Ahmed Yousef named a CFAES Distinguished Professor

    Dec 11, 2020

    Congratulations to Dr. Ahmed Yousef who has been named a 2020 CFAES Distinguished Professor.

  9. Monica Giusti Named Fellow to National Academy of Inventors

    Dec 8, 2020

    Congratulations to Dr. Monica Giusti on being selected as a Fellow by the 2020 National Academy of Inventors (NAI) Fellows Selection Committee and Board of Directors. The Selection Committee noted that Dr. Giusti was chosen for induction because she “demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.”

  10. Phi Tau Sigma

    Students inducted into Phi Tau Sigma

    Nov 20, 2020

    Congratulations to MS students Peyton Greenwood, Wooju Lim, Abigail Krentz and PhD student Chong Teng who have recently been inducted into Phi Tau Sigma. Phi Tau Sigma (ΦΤΣ) is the one and only Honor Society for Food Science and Technology.