CFAES Give Today

Department of Food Science and Technology



  1. Gina Nicholson Kramer Joins CFI Team as Program Director for Partnerships and Learning

    May 11, 2021

    The Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention (CFI) at The Ohio State University is pleased to announce that Gina Nicholson Kramer, REHS/RS has joined our team as Program Director for Partnerships and Learning. In this role, she will oversee CFI’s efforts to prepare leaders, students and engaged citizens in food safety as well as develop and implement new learning and education programs that meet the needs of stakeholders and complement existing OSU food safety educational efforts.

  2. Ohio State forms food industry consortium to advance commercialization of ultra-shear technology for liquid foods and beverages processing

    Apr 7, 2021

    COLUMBUS, Ohio—Researchers at The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) have created a university-industry consortium to further the development of and provide access to the licensing of a new, innovative manufacturing technology that preserves foods and beverages using wholesome, recognizable ingredients; no artificial preservatives; and reduced heat. 

  3. FST professor and student to receive 2021 NACTA Awards

    Mar 22, 2021

    Congratulations to Dr. Ken Lee and PhD student Brittany Miles who have been selected to receive 2021 North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA) Awards. Ken was awarded the NACTA Educator Award and Brittany was awarded the NACTA Graduate Student Teaching Award. One of the central purposes of NACTA is to recognize those individuals whose efforts represent the very best in agricultural higher education. A virtual conference will be held this June where award winners will be recognized. 

  4. Balasubramaniam named 2021 recipient of the IFT Research and Development Award.

    Mar 21, 2021

    Congratulations to Dr. VM 'Bala' Balasubramaniam on being selected to receive the 2021 Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) Research and Development Award. Recognition of this award will take place virtually this summer during the IFT Annual Meeting.

  5. Barringer Named Managing Site Director of CAPPS

    Mar 18, 2021

    After five years of dedicated leadership, Dr. Dennis Heldman is stepping down as the managing director of the Center for Advanced Processing and Packaging Studies (CAPPS). CAPPS is a National Science Foundation (NSF) founded Industry University Cooperative Research Center (IUCRC) that has fostered this consortium between the food industry and universities for over 30 years. These partnerships mutually benefit both parties and advance food processing and packaging research. During the past 5 years, CAPPS sponsored 35 research projects with industry partners.

  6. Dr. Luis Rodriguez-Saona awarded the 2021 Lumley Interdisciplinary Research Award

    Mar 16, 2021

    Congratulations to Dr. Luis Rodriguez-Saona on receiving the 2021 Lumley Interdisciplinary Research Award. His collaborative research team also included Christopher Ball from the ElectroScience Laboratory and Vimal Buck from the Center for Design and Manufacturing Excellence. This award recognizes their dedication to advancing collaborative research at the Ohio State University.

  7. FST Peer Mentors selected for 2021-2022

    Mar 15, 2021

    Congratulations to our newly selected Food Science and Technology Peer Mentors for the 2021-2022 academic year: Rachel Barrett, Betsy Cunningham, Jenny Cong and Cameron Rich. They will be joining existing members Gabriella Gephart, Meegan Gould, Kirsten Lower, Melanie Petitti, Lydia Tantalo and Emily Thimmes. The FST Peer Mentor Program pairs upper-class students with new first-year and transfer students to ease their transition into their major and to the Columbus campus.

  8. 2020 FSLI Fellows

    How (and why) CFAES faculty should apply for the Food Systems Leadership Institute

    Mar 3, 2021

    If you’re a faculty member in CFAES and are thinking about applying for the national Food Systems Leadership Institute (FSLI), Sheryl Barringer has some advice for you.

    “Do it!”

    Barringer, who is professor and chair of the CFAES Department of Food Science and Technology, recently completed FSLI’s intensive leadership development program.

  9. Dr. Melvin Pascall

    DEI Faculty and Staff Spotlight: Dr. Melvin Pascall

    Mar 2, 2021

    This month's DEI Faculty and Staff Spotlight features Dr. Melvin Pascall who is a professor in the Department of Food Science and Technology (FST). Dr. Pascall currently serves as a member of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee in FST. He has also served on the CFAES DEI Committee from 2015 to 2017 and the Promotion and Tenure (P&T) Committee at the departmental level where he was the Procedure Oversight Designee (POD) during 2018.

  10. Congratulations to the Food Science and Technology 2021 Distinguished Seniors

    Feb 19, 2021

    COLUMBUS, Ohio—Twenty-five seniors have received the most prestigious undergraduate award at The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES).

    The Distinguished Senior Award honors top graduating seniors on the Ohio State Columbus campus who exemplify the CFAES mission in areas such as academics and scholarship, research and innovation, service and involvement, and influence and leadership.