About Us: News

  1. Dr. Emmanuel Hatzakis receives 2017 IUFoST Young Scientist Award

    Nov 30, 2017

    IUFoST Press Release
    [29 November 2017] – The International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) announced the Lifetime Achievement and Young Scientist Awards recipients, Dr. David Julian McClements and Dr. Emmanuel Hatzakis

    The IUFoST Young Scientist Award recognizes an individual in the initial phases of her or his career for the potential to make outstanding scientific contributions to the field of food science and technology and the potential for future scientific leadership.

  2. Tailgating and food safety

    Chow Line: Have Fun and Be Food Safe When Tailgating

    Sep 15, 2017

    Dr. Abby Snyder, an assistant professor and food safety field specialist in the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) offers some tips about food safety for tailgating events.

    I’ve finally got tickets to the game this weekend, and we’re planning a huge tailgate. Are there any food safety precautions I should take before, during and after the game?

  3. Ohio State’s Food Industries Center responds to the needs of the food industry with online continuing education

    Sep 14, 2017

    The OSU Food Industries Center is launching a new online continuing education course called Introduction to Food Science Essentials. This 10 week online training will begin on October 2 and is designed for food industry professionals who are new to the industry or are looking to enhance their technical knowledge and have not received a formal education in the field of food science and technology.

  4. The truth about food

    Who to trust for the truth about food

    Sep 8, 2017

    Below is an article that the Ohio Farm Bureau did on the 'Truth About Food' event hosted by the Food Innovation Center at The Ohio State University. The article originally appeared in the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation pulication our Ohio.

    Go ahead, eat those fried eggs. And add a slice of buttered toast and a side of bacon.
    Enjoy it, because despite what you’ve heard for nearly 30 years, that fat and cholesterol won’t make you sick.

  5. Food Preservation tips

    OSU extension educators featured in Our Ohio magazine

    Sep 7, 2017

    OSU Assistant Professor and Extension Field Specialist Abby Snyder and Fairfield County Extension Educator Shannon Carter are featured in the September/October issue of Our Ohio magazine. The article offers a variety of food preservation tips and tricks, a valuable do’s and don’ts list and includes highlights from a recent food preservation class taught by Carter.

  6. Dr. Abby Snyder speaks about Food Safety Month

    September is Food Safety Month

    Aug 31, 2017

    Chow Line: September Is Food Safety Month and a Good Time to Learn Practical Tips

    My dad absolutely hates to waste food, so he tends to keep leftovers until they smell bad. Until then, they are safe to eat, as far as he’s concerned. Is that true?

    No, not really.

    The bacteria that cause foodborne illnesses aren’t easily detectable to the naked eye nor by smell because these organisms do not affect the look, smell or taste of foods, according to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

  7. OSU Food Waste Collaborative Conference

    Ohio State Food Waste Collaborative Conference

    Aug 30, 2017

    'Don't Waste That Food!' Ohio State Conference Will Show How and Why

    COLUMBUS, Ohio — Inside many trash cans lies food that probably could have been eaten or composted.

    Food waste accounts for about 22 percent of what’s in every landfill, according to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. What’s more surprising is where most of that food waste is coming from, said Brian Roe, a professor of agricultural economics in the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) at The Ohio State University.

  8. OSU students in Nicaragua

    FST student conducts research in Nicaragua

    Aug 29, 2017

    Alba Claudia Mayta Apaza, a PhD student of Dr. Jiyoung Lee, spent the summer in Nicaragua for conducting a study about infants and children gut microbiome development.

  9. Phytochemicals Lab hosts Philippine Scientists

    Aug 28, 2017

    The week of August 14-19, the Phytochemicals Laboratory lead by Dr. Giusti hosted a team of scientists from the Philippine Food and Nutrition Research Institute (FNRI), the Philippine Council for Industry, Energy, and Emerging Technology Research and Development (PCIEERD) and other institutions for an intensive hands-on course: Natural Dyes and Food Colorants R&D Program. Dr. Sigurdson and other members of the Phytochemicals Lab team contributed with lectures and laboratory activities.

  10. Food Evolution Documentary to Screen at Ohio State

    Aug 9, 2017

    Join the FST Food Science Club and the food and agricultural science communication club Citation Needed, for a screening of the documentary, Food Evolution. This film, directed by Academy Award nominee Scott Hamilton Kennedy and Narrated by Neil deGrasse Tyson explores controversy around the science of food through the lens of the debate over genetically engineered foods. Following the screening, UC Davis geneticist Dr. Alison van Eenennaam, a prominent subject in the film, will facilitate a discussion about controversies in science and agriculture.