1. Changing a Paradigm: Have We Simply Used the Drugs in the Wrong Way?

    Sep 30, 2020

    Last week, the number of deaths caused by COVID-19 in the U.S. surpassed 200,000. Underlying or “modern” diseases, such as diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and malfunctions of the immune system, are a leading cause of the severe illness and death outcomes with COVID-19. So, what caused the surge of these diseases and, consequently, the susceptibility to severe outcomes with COVID-19? According to professor of food science and microbiology Hua Helen Wang, the answer lies in our gut.  

  2. Dr. Devin Peterson

    Dr. Devin Peterson Selected as One of CFAES’s Inaugural Dean’s Chairs

    Sep 25, 2020

    CFAES Vice President for Agricultural Administration & Dean Dr. Cathann A. Kress has announced Dr. Devin Peterson, as one of CFAES’ inaugural Dean’s Chairs. Dr. Peterson is a Distinguished Professor of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences in Flavor Science, Faculty Director for the Foods for Health Discovery Themes, Director of the Flavor Research and Education Center, and Co-Director of Nutrient & Phytochemical Analytic Shared Resource. The term of the Dean’s Chair will be four years beginning on September 1, 2020 through August 31, 2024. 

  3. CranChee is a natural, sustainable snack choice designed by OSU students.

    Meet CranChee: OSU Students Win Ocean Spray Contest

    Sep 25, 2020

    Hunger strikes. What do you reach for? What factors go into your decision? Nutrition? Convenience? Flavor? This year, a team of food science and nutrition students set out to determine what you think in the moment before you pick up your next snack, so they could design a product catered to your needs. The next time hunger strikes in the snack aisle, you might reach for a product designed right here at Ohio State!

  4. Jiyoung Lee, left, and Yuehan Ai, a PhD student in food science and technology

    Looking for a COVID-19 early warning

    Sep 9, 2020

    Public health professor’s lab monitoring campus, state wastewater

    Hard at work on the fourth floor of Cunz Hall, a team of researchers is helping detect the prevalence of COVID-19 on campus and in communities across Ohio.

    By testing wastewater on its way to treatment plants for coronavirus RNA, the team — led by Professor of Environmental Health Sciences Jiyoung Lee — is gathering valuable data that could predict where COVID-19 outbreaks may soon occur.

  5. Work in the Time of COVID

    Work in the Time of COVID: Creatively Fighting Coronavirus

    Sep 1, 2020

    As former President of Sino-Micro, The Overseas Chinese Society for Microbiology, FST Professor Hua Wang was thinking about coronavirus long before it arrived in the United States. “In January, they already had a shortage of PPE in Wuhan. While masks have been essential for protection, the disposable medical mask production capacity would not meet the demand for global mask-wearing. And I started thinking, ‘how could I help?’” Wang said. But what is a scientist locked out of her lab to do?

  6. FST Awards over $185,000 to Undergraduates

    Aug 31, 2020

    In a year when much of the news has been negative, many undergraduates in the Department of Food Science and Technology (FST) will begin the year on a more positive note. FST's substantial scholarship program awarded $185,250 to its undergraduates for the 2020-2021 year!

  7. CFAES’ Cooperstone recognized for research that improves tomato nutrition

    Aug 14, 2020

    Congratulations to Jessica Cooperstone, one of eight early-career scientists selected nationally to receive a 2019 New Innovator Award from the Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research (FFAR). 

    Cooperstone was recognized for her research at The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES).

    Her project, “Improving the nutritional quality of tomatoes,” combines plant breeding/genetics, analytical chemistry, bioinformatics, and nutrition to help develop tomatoes that are healthier for humans. 

  8. Work in the Time of COVID: Balancing Family, Work, and a Pandemic

    Jul 29, 2020

    While we are all undergoing a collective change, each person’s experience of the COVID-19 pandemic is also incredibly personal. For Eric Maul, FST fiscal officer and father to two young children, it is an adjustment that has taken place in stages. Like many parents, the ease of each stage has been largely dependent on a factor outside Eric’s control—childcare.

  9. How adding green tea extract to prepared foods may reduce the risk for norovirus

    Jul 22, 2020

    In study, edible coating made with tea extract killed the virus and bacteria


    Infusing prepared foods with an edible coating that contains green tea extract may lower consumers’ chances of catching the highly contagious norovirus by eating contaminated food, new research suggests.

  10. Dr. Kathryn J. Boor has been selected 2020 Harris Award recipient.

    Jul 20, 2020

    Congratulations to Dr. Kathryn J. Boor on being selected as the 2020 Harris Award recipient. Plans are underway for Dr. Boor to visit Ohio State to present a lecture to the campus community and to engage with the department's faculty and students during Spring Semester 2021.