Department of Food Science and Technology

Welcome to the department of Food Science and Technology (FST) at The Ohio State University (OSU). Here at OSU, we combine world class faculty and staff with state-of-the-art facilities to give our undergraduate and graduate students the best experience possible. One of the main goals at OSU is to “put students first” and, at FST, we’re committed to making that happen. From a student perspective, we are one of the largest food science programs in the United States. We currently have about 220 undergraduates and 70 graduate students in our program. We offer a wide variety of specialized cutting-edge research programs that focus in areas such as food and health, emerging novel food processing and packaging technologies, and, food safety and quality programs. Our program also collaborates with and offers programs for the food industry and we are committed to meeting the needs of our food and agricultural stakeholders in Ohio.


By: Stephanie Diamond

This post is written in recognition of ...

Last week TIC Gums’ senior regional account manager David Audia and technical service representative Amanda Hoffman visited Ohio State University where they received a tour of the Parker Food Science and Technology Building.


Past Presidents Heldman and Litchfield
DragonflyTV . Real Scientists . Real Scientist_ Corey Scott | PBS KIDS GO!.flv
FST Alumnus Corey Scott

Interact With Us

Front Page Buttons


Started the week with a welcome back lunch for our new and returning students, faculty and staff. #CFAES #OSU
@OSUFoodScience @LynnKnipe talks about demystifying meat as part of the ultimate meat guide @columbusmonthly #CFAES
@OSUFoodScience professor Dr. Yael Vodovotz was the featured expert in @TIME article titled "Should I Eat Pretzels?"

Photo Gallery